• Last modified 4029 days ago (Aug. 6, 2008)


Brookens, Craft, Dallke win

Craft narrowly defeats Becker in sheriff’s race by 35 votes

Staff writer

The winners were determined Tuesday in three hard-fought Republican races.

J. Robert Brookens of Marion was declared the winner in Marion County and in the district of the three contenders vying for the Kansas Representative District 70 seat with 1,395 votes, followed by Roger Hannaford, also of Marion, with 638 votes and William Spangler of Burns with 216 votes.

The results from Butler County declared Spangler the winner with 188 votes, followed by Hannaford with 134 votes, and Brookens with 31. Hannaford won in Chase County with 207 votes, followed by Brookens with 204 votes, and Spangler with 193.

In the sheriff’s race, challenger Robert Craft of rural Marion won by a margin of 35 votes over incumbent Lee Becker.

Incumbent Randy Dallke will face off with Democrat Aaron Allen in the general election for the third district Marion County Commission seat, defeating challenger Larry Larsen by a vote of 315 to 250.

A total of 2,689 Republicans voted in the much-anticipated primary race. Of those, there were 194 advanced ballots.

All of the results are unofficial until the county commissions canvass the results.

Marion County Commission will canvas the election results at Monday’s commission meeting.

Last modified Aug. 6, 2008