• Last modified 1695 days ago (Sept. 4, 2014)


Burdick keeps the tradition going

Staff writer

Mostly cloudy conditions after welcome overnight rain made for a pleasant day and a large crowd Monday at the annual Burdick Labor Day celebration. The theme was, “Keep the Tradition Going.”

The 35-minute parade featured 55 entries. It was announced by Glenn Carlson and judged by Judy Peterson of Herington, Clay Simons of Lincolnville, and Linda Eldridge of Council Grove. Diana Jost was the grand marshal.

Burdick Hustlers 4-H Club won the theme prize; United Methodist Church of Burdick won the judges prize; and Burdick Bunch Relay for Life was the first-place float.

Other parade results

Floats: 2nd, Hebron Lutheran Church; 3rd, Jost family.

Antique cars and trucks: 1st, 1938 Chevy sedan, Dale Powell, Council Grove; 2nd, 1949 Hudson, Jerry Alcorn, Herington; 3nd, 1931 Plymouth coup, Harold Falk, Herington.

Classic/collectible cars: 1st, 1957 Thunderbird, Vic Hartman, Council Grove; 2nd, 1966 Corvette, Bob White, Topeka; 3rd, 1951 Willie’s Pickup, JP Hanson.

Antique tractors: 1st, 1936 John Deere B, Jim Thomas, Council Grove; 2nd, 1943 International H, Terry Silhan, Pilsen.

Children’s entries: 1st, Maddie Becker, Junior Miss Princess of America, Herington; 2nd, Cottonwood Valley Bank.

Miscellaneous: 1st, World War I Train, 40 and 8 organization, White City; 2nd, 1956 Willie’s Jeep, Terry and Kathy Silhan, Pilsen; 3rd, Channel Seeds, Chuck Kniebel, Delavan.

Horse-drawn entries: 1st, Ralph Anderson, Council Grove, celebrating his 75th birthday.

Fun Run

The overall women’s winner in the Monday morning fun run was Natasha Becker. The overall winner of the men’s division was Vince Koon. First- and second-place winners follow.

12 and under: girls, Davanne Schaffer and Madi Becker; boys, Tyus Becker and Matt Basore.

13-19: girls, Holly Roniger; boys, Brady Walker and Ryan Koons.

20-29: women, Rachel Jones and Theo Kassebaum; men, Andrew Jones and Anthony Gutsch.

30-39: women, Beth Weibert and Kelsi Littlejohn; men, Josh Peterson and Nick Weibert.

40-49: woman, Lisa Koons and Renee Walker; men, Michael Littlejohn and Rick Basore.

50-59: women, Julie Kerbs and Mary Pfeffer; men, Kim Martin and Bill Kassebaum.

60-69: women, Mary Roniger and Susie Peterson; men, Roger Harting and Larry Peterson.

70-79: no women; men, Pat Koons.

Last modified Sept. 4, 2014