• Last modified 3187 days ago (Oct. 27, 2010)


Elections are Tuesday

Local, state, and national positions will be up for grabs Tuesday in the 2010 general election.


The race to fill Sam Brownback’s seat in the U.S. Senate is contested by Democrat Lisa Johnston, Republican Jerry Moran, Libertarian Michael Wm. Dann, and Reform Party candidate Joseph (Joe) K. Bellis.

Candidates for Moran’s seat representing the U.S. House of Representatives 1st District include Democrat Alan Jilka, Republican Tim Huelskamp, and Libertarian Jack Warner.


Four parties have tickets on the ballot for governor and lieutenant governor. They are Democrats Tom Holland and Kelly Kultala, Republicans Brownback and Jeff Colyer, Libertarians Andrew P. Gray and Stacey Davis, and Reform Party candidates Kenneth (Ken) W. Cannon and Daniel (Dan) J. Faubion.

Secretary of state candidates are Democrat Chris Biggs, Republican Kris Kobach, Libertarian Phillip Horatio Lucas, and Reform Party candidate Derek Langseth.

Democrat Steve Six, Republican Derek Schmidt, and Libertarian Dennis Hawver are in the running to be attorney general.

Democrat Dennis McKinney and Republican Ron Estes will face off in the race for state treasurer.

Republican Sandy Praeger is the only candidate to be commissioner of insurance.

Candidates to represent State Senate 17th District include Democrat Jerry Karr and Republican Jeff Longbine.

J. Robert (Bob) Brookens is the lone candidate for State Representative 70th District.

Republican Kenneth R. Willard is the sole candidate to serve on the State Board of Education, 7th District.

Democrat Robert E. Medford and Republican Jana Shaver will face each other in the race to serve on the State Board of Education, 9th District.


Republican Roger K. Fleming is unopposed in the race to represent the 1st District on Marion County Commission.

All township clerk offices are up for election, but many have no candidates. Candidates are Ernest W. Gray, Catlin Township; Gordon Groening, Centre Township; Gary D. Unruh, Durham Park Township; Lowell Heinrichs, East Branch Township; Gail L. Whiteman, Gale Township; Jared D. Jost, Liberty Township; Dwight M. Flaming, Menno Township; Stephanie Ax, Peabody Township; and Wilfred H. Unruh, West Branch Township. All township clerk candidates filed as Republicans.

James Lee Christensen and Donald Rock are running for Eastshore Improvement District board.

Paul White and James M. Wilson are running for Marion County Lake Improvement District board.

Judicial retention

Judicial election ballots merely ask whether a judge should be retained.

Judges on the ballot for retention include:

  • Kansas Supreme Court — Carol A. Beier, Dan Biles, Lawton R. Nuss, and Marla J. Luckert.
  • Kansas Court of Appeals — Stephen D. Hill, Patrick D. McAnany, Nancy L. Caplinger, Henry W. Green Jr., Tom Malone, Michael B. Buser, and Melissa Taylor Standridge.
  • District Court, District 8 — Ben J. Sexton, Steven L. Hornbaker, and David R. Platt.

Poll sites will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. The deadline to register to vote was Oct. 18.

Voters unable to vote Tuesday may request an advance ballot from the county clerk’s office. The deadline for the office to mail advance ballots is Friday. Those ballots must be returned to the office before 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Alternatively, voters may fill out an advance ballot at the courthouse until noon Monday.

Poll sites include:

  • Burns Community Center, 301 N. Washington St., Burns — Burns city and Milton and Summit townships.
  • Emmanuel Baptist Church, 229 N. Walnut St., Marion — north Marion, parts of Centre Township, and Gale and Grant townships.
  • Florence Masonic Center, 421 Main St., Florence — Florence, Doyle Township, and part of Fairplay township.
  • Goessel AGAPE Senior Center, 520 E. Main St., Goessel — Goessel, part of East Branch Township, and Menno and West Branch townships.
  • Hillsboro City Building, 118 E. Grand Ave., Hillsboro — west Hillsboro and Lehigh cities, and Lehigh and Risley townships.
  • Lincolnville Community Center, 213 W. 6th St., Lincolnville — Lincolnville and Lost Springs cities and Clark, Clear Creek, and Lost Springs townships.
  • Our Savior Lutheran Church, 320 S. Cedar St., Marion — south Marion city, part of south Centre Township, and Wilson Township.
  • Peabody Senior Center, 106 N. Walnut St., Peabody — Peabody city, parts of East Branch and Fairplay townships, and Catlin Township.
  • Tampa Senior Center, 100 Main St., Tampa — Tampa, Durham, and Ramona cities and Blaine, Colfax, Durham Park, Logan, and Moore townships.
  • United Methodist Church, 905 E. D St., Hillsboro — east Hillsboro city and Liberty Township.

Last modified Oct. 27, 2010