• Last modified 2527 days ago (May 23, 2012)


HHS grads earn scholarships

The graduating class of Hillsboro High School consisted of 41 students. Many of those students were acknowledged as winning awards and scholarships at the graduation ceremony Saturday at Joel H. Wiens stadium.

Graduation awards

President’s Award for Educational Excellence: Amy Bartel, Devin Dick, Nicholas Ediger, Micaela Hinerman, Aaron Klassen, Katherine Kliewer, Benjamin Loewen, Grant Shewey, Allison Troyer, and Courtney Weber.

Kansas State Scholars: Bartel, Loewen.

Kansas Board of Regents Scholars: Bartel, Dick, Hinerman, Loewen, Bret Mueller, Katherine Pritchard, Troyer, Weber.

Outstanding math and science award: Troyer.

C.M. Sextro Academic Scholarship for Mathematics ($1,250): Loewen.

USD 410 Hillsboro Education Association Scholarship ($300): Loewen.

Alpha Omega Incentive Award ($500): Weber.

American Legion Post No. 366 Scholarship ($500 each): Dick, Callie Serene.

Dale Dennis Excellence in Education Award ($200): Loewen.

The Built Ford Tough-FFA Scholarship ($1,000): Aaron Klassen.

Paul Rundstrom Memorial Scholarship ($500): Dick.

Earl Wineinger Scholarship ($500): Klassen.

Hillsboro Lions Club Scholarship ($500 each): Dick, Krista Reimer.

Lang Diesel and FFA Scholarship ($1,000): Kyler Borg, Olivia Kliewer.

Hillsboro Medical Center Auxiliary Scholarship ($500): Bartel.

Linda J. Johnson Scholarship ($2,500): Weber.

KSHSAA Awards ($250 each): Reimer, Weber.

Wiebe Good Citizen Scholarship ($2,500 each): Reimer, Weber.

Honors: Dick, Samantha Ens, Alexandra Kruse, Luke Moore, Mueller, David Nelson, Amanda Pickens, Serene.

High Honors: Bartel, Nicholas Ediger, Hinerman, Klassen, Katherine Kliewer, Loewen, Pritchard, Reimer, Shewey, Troyer, Weber.

Last modified May 23, 2012