• Last modified 3296 days ago (April 15, 2010)


Kline passes Varenhorst in final vote tally

When Marion County Commissioners counted provisional ballots Monday morning for the Marion City Council race, Jerry Kline passed Dick Varenhorst to claim the second open council seat. The first open seat went to Chris Meierhoff

The final tally was Meierhoff, 319 votes; Kline, 213; and Varenhorst, 210. Before the provisional ballots were counted, Varenhorst had a four-vote lead over Kline.

The mayoral race finished with incumbent Mary Olson defeating Steven L. Smith, 228-197.

Marion County Register of Deeds Jo A. Ottensmeier filled in for Commissioner Bob Hein for canvassing, as Hein missed the meeting for medical reasons.

Last modified April 15, 2010