• Last modified 3542 days ago (Aug. 13, 2009)


Livestock indemnity program offers compensation for losses

Director, Marion County Farm Services Agency

The 2008 Farm Bill created several new disaster programs.

One is the Livestock Indemnity Program, which compensates producers for livestock deaths in excess of normal mortality because of adverse weather from Jan. 1, 2008 through Oct. 1, 2011.

For 2008 losses, producers must file applications by Sept. 14. For 2009, losses before July 13, producers must file a loss notice but they have until Jan. 30, 2010, to apply for payments. Deaths after July 13 require loss notices within 30 days of when the loss became apparent and payment applications by Jan. 30 of the year following the loss.

All types and weight ranges of cattle (beef and dairy), swine, sheep, goats, equine, and poultry are covered. Claimed livestock must have died in the year for which benefits are being requested and had been raised for commercial use as part of a farming operation that produces commodities.

Producers will need to provide documentation, detailing proof of death to indicate that the livestock deaths were a direct result of an eligible adverse weather event including winter storms, tornadoes, lightning, flooding, or extreme heat or cold. Producers also must provide documents detailing the quantity and kind of livestock that died.

Documentation may include, but is not limited to, bank or other loan documents, Federal Emergency Management Agency records, National Guard records, private insurance documents, purchase and production records, property tax statements, rendering truck receipts, veterinarian records, and written contracts.

Filings are handled through county Farm Service Agency offices. Benefits are based on 75 percent of a pre-determined fair market value.

Last modified Aug. 13, 2009