• Last modified 2026 days ago (Nov. 6, 2013)


Marion County players fill Wheat State League team

Players from Centre, Peabody-Burns, and Goessel made up the bulk of the Wheat State League all-league volleyball team, selected by coaches.

Cougars, Warriors, and Bluebirds accounted for 16 of the 25 selections — 64 percent.

First-team selections included Paige Hiebert, Erin Brubaker, and Alyssa Booton of Goessel and Bryanna Svoboda and Shelby Makovec of Centre.

Second-team selections included Cacey Simons and Brenna Shields of Centre, Katy Benson and Kaycy Gonzalez of Peabody-Burns, and Alicen Meysing and Olivia Duerksen of Goessel.

Honorable mention selections included Makenzie Deines and Summer Espinoza of Centre, Makayla King and Gentry Thiesen of Goessel, and Allyssa Brooks of Peabody-Burns.

Goessel coach Crysta Guhr was the league’s coach of the year.

Last modified Nov. 6, 2013