• Last modified 577 days ago (Oct. 17, 2019)


Marion County students to receive state academic honors

Marion County’s students are being awarded scholarships and recognized for their academic achievements.

Hillsboro’s Matthew Denholm, as well as Emily Meier and Madeline Meier of Goessel were among 170 students to receive $1,000 Kansas State Alumni Association’s Legacy Scholarships, which were presented Sept. 7 at K-State’s home football game.

To qualify, applicants had to have at least one parent or grandparent who was a K-State alumnus, with preference given to members of the Alumni Association.

The University of Kansas will also honor a selection of Marion County seniors who rank in the top 10% of their class.

Honorees and their families are invited to attend any of the 13 regional ceremonies: Garden City, Oct. 9; Manhattan, Oct. 14; Hays, Oct. 22; Wichita, Oct. 23; Wichita, Oct. 28; Colby, Oct. 29; Emporia, Nov. 4; Salina, Nov. 6; Hutchinson, Nov. 7; Lawrence, Nov. 11; Topeka, Nov. 12; Pittsburg, Nov. 13; Kansas City, Nov. 20.

Students will receive distinctive Kansas Honor Scholar medallions that can be worn at their graduations.

For more information, or to register, visit

Kansas honor scholars


Kelsey Hett and Jensen Riffel.


Elizabeth Alderfer, Alyssa Burkholder, Brooke Nafziger, and Alexandria Nickel.


Callie Arnold, Jacob Denholm, Olivia Jury.


Chloe Burkholder, Matthew Christensen, Cassie Meyer, and Cameron White.


Aubrey Craig, Lindsey Frye, and Morgan Gaines.

Last modified Oct. 17, 2019