100 years ago
january 4, 1917
C.R. Nelson and J.S. Newlin have opened a Tire Repair and Vulcanizing shop at the Central Park Garage, two doors east of the Williams Meat Market.
Since writing an item about Mrs. John Penner’s big Christmas cactus, we have learned of one, which Miss Clara Symes of Lincolnville has. It was brought to Kansas nearly fifty years ago and is now about five feet in diameter. On Christmas day this year, it had nearly five hundred blossoms, with more coming.
The bonds of the Pilsen Bank and the Exchange Bank at Burns have been approved and these two banks will share in the deposits of county money.
The home, which Mr. and Mrs. S.B. Winchester have been building the past few months, is nearing completion. It is located across the street north from the High School building and east from the Dr. Appleby residence, and is one of the most unique and attractive houses in the town.
It is out of the question to give the names of all of the sufferers with the grippe the past week. There has been what might be called an epidemic of the disease the past week or two.