• Last modified 1477 days ago (April 8, 2015)


No Hillsboro election surprise

Write-in candidate wins “big” in Durham

News editor

Facing no opposition in their races, all registered candidates for Hillsboro city and school district races won Tuesday in an election marked by low voter turnout.

Mayor Delores Dalke, and council members David Loewen and Robert Watson retained their seats on the city council.

Timothy Kaufman, Roderick Koons, Jared Jost, and Kimberly Kline won seats on the USD 410 school board. A write-in candidate received 8 votes for the final open board spot.

Just 11 percent of Hillsboro voters cast ballots.

Gary Gerringer was the only candidate on the ballot for Durham mayor, but a write-in candidate got 82 percent of the vote, winning 23-5. Alan Accardi, Wendell Cook, Gene Duke, and Edward Flaming won city council seats, and a write-in received 3 votes for the remaining seat.

Among five candidates competing for three seats on the Goessel city council, Rollin Schmidt came out on top with 71 votes, Jeffrey Boese had 60 votes, and Dean Snelling claimed the third seat with 55 votes.

Lehigh mayor and five council positions had no official candidates, but all received write-ins.

Darla Meysing, Maynard Knapp, Dan Miller, and Kyle Funk all ran unopposed for Goessel school board, and all were elected.

Voter turnout across the county was low, with just 1,113 of 8,236 registered voters, 14 percent, participating.

Write-in names were not available as of press time.

Last modified April 8, 2015