• Last modified 438 days ago (Aug. 6, 2020)


Novak ousted; Berg, incumbents win

Staff writer

Commissioner Dianne Novak is on her way out the courthouse door after being beaten nearly 3-1 in Tuesday’s primary election.

“Not only is our district relieved, I think the whole county is relieved,” winner Mike Beneke said. “There was just as much concern outside our district as inside our district.”

Beneke will stand against independent candidate David Mueller in the November election.

“I think that could go either way,” Beneke said. “I think my biggest concern right now is to try to make some changes even before the November election. Some things could be pushed right now.”

Commissioner Randy Dallke won over challenger Randall Eitzen.

“I’m tickled and ready to move on and maybe Marion County can get something done,” Dallke said.

Incumbent Dave Crofoot also won handily over challengers Amy Soyez’and Tom Britain.

Susan Berg, who has been in the county treasurer’s office for years, will move up to the treasurer’s desk

In the race for District 70 House of Representatives, Republican incumbent John Barker handily won over challenger Daniel Wasylk with 3,772 votes in both Marion and Dickinson counties over Wasylk’s 1,249 combined votes. In Marion County, Barker got 880 votes over Wasylk’s 205.

Marion County voters chose Rep. Roger Marshall in the Republican race for U.S. Senate and Barbara Bollier in the Democratic race. For Congress, county voters favored Republican Tracey Mann and Democrat Christy Cauble Davis.

Last modified Aug. 6, 2020