• Last modified 3509 days ago (Jan. 14, 2010)


Peabody farmer re-elected to FSA committee

Peabody area farmer and rancher Eldon Andres was re-elected to serve a three-year term on the Marion County Farm Service Agency Committee.

Andres received 121 of the 136 votes cast in the local administrative area election that represents producers residing in the Marion, Peabody, Florence, and Burns areas.

Other producer members on the committee are Monty Stuchlik and Marvin Ratzlaff.

Producers who wish to meet with the committee should schedule appointments through the county FSA office at (620) 382-3714.

“Farmer elected county FSA commitees serve as a vital link in the effective administration of USDA related programs,” county executive director Bill Harmon said.

The committee is responsible for carrying out federal farm programs in accordance with national guidelines and directives.

Some duties include meeting periodically to make policy decisions, acting on cases involving individual farmers, overseeing county office operations to assure funding is used effectively, helping farmers and the public understand FSA programs, offering policy recommendations to the state FSA committee, conducting hearings and investigations as requested by the agency, and supervising the annual FSA county committee election.

“We express our appreciation to voters who participated in the recent election process,” Harmon said. “The county committee system can only work effectively with strong producer involvement.”

Producers should also be aware that during any hazardous weather conditions, FSA and the National Resources and Conservation Services offices might close to ensure the safety of employees as well as the public. Call the county office when planing to visit.

Last modified Jan. 14, 2010