• Last modified 2489 days ago (Aug. 2, 2012)


Photo ids required at polls Tuesday

Under the Kansas Secure and Fair Elections Act that went into effect last year, each voter must bring a photo ID when casting his or her ballot in Tuesday’s primary election.

Among the IDs acceptable are a driver’s license, a concealed- carry handgun license, a U.S. passport, and identification cards issued to government employees, members of the military, students at Kansas colleges, public assistance recipients, and members of Indian tribes.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The main contested races will be in Republican primaries for 35th Senate District, which includes all of the county, and for the 70th Representative District, which includes Marion and 12 townships (excluding Risley) in the northern half of the county.

In the Senate race, Majority Leader Jay Scott Emler of Lindsborg faces what most observers regard as token opposition from Jesse Bryant, a 24-year-old veteran of Iraq and Afghanistan and a self-professed conservative libertarian from Galva.

In the House race, two Dickinson County residents are vying to replace J. Robert Brookens of Marion, who decided not to run after the district, which formerly included all of Marion County, was redrawn to include only half the county, plus most of Dickinson County (except for Herington) and a township in Clay County.

The two candidates are John Barker, a stockman and retired magistrate judge from Abilene, and Doug Lindahl, a vocational education consultant and longtime school board and rural electric cooperative board member.

Brookens has endorsed Lindahl. The conservative Kansas Chamber of Commerce has endorsed Barker.

A special voter’s guide, listing each candidate’s answers to eight questions about issues, appears on Page 2.

The only other contested races on the ballot are Republican precinct committeewoman in Liberty Township, where CleoBeth Friesen and Jeanne D. Groves, both of Hillsboro, face off, and Republican precinct committeeman in Marion North, where Danny Maddox is challenging Todd Heitschmidt.

For the majority of township trustee and treasurer and precinct committeeman and committeewoman positions, no candidate filed. Write-ins are likely to determine the winners.


  • Burns Community Center for voters in Milton and Summit townships.
  • Chisholm Trail Church, Goessel, for voters in East Branch, Menno, and West Branch townships.
  • Emmanuel Baptist Church, Marion, for voters in Centre, Gale, and Grant Townships and Marion’s north precinct.
  • Florentine Senior Center, Florence, for voters in Doyleand Fairplay townships, and both Florence precincts.
  • Hillsboro City Building for voters in Lehigh and Risley townships and Hillsboro’s 1st precinct.
  • Hillsboro United Methodist Church for voters in Liberty Township and Hillsboro’s 2nd precinct.
  • Lincolnville Community Center for voters in Clark, Clear Creek, and Lost Springs townships.
  • Our Savior Lutheran Church, Marion, for voters in Centre and Wilson Townships and Marion’s south precinct.
  • Peabody Senior Center for voters in Catlin, East Branch, Fairplay, and Peabody townships and both Peabody precincts.
  • Tampa Senior Center for voters in Blaine, Colfax, Durham Park, Logan, and Moore townships.

Last modified Aug. 2, 2012