• Last modified 3323 days ago (May 13, 2010)


Tabor Hall of Fame event is Saturday

Former Bluejay basketball greats Shirley (Clark) Hudson, Jesse Herrmann, and the 1996-97 men’s basketball team will be inducted into the Tabor College Hall of Fame at the annual Hall of Fame Banquet Saturday at Hillsboro Mennonite Brethren Church, 300 Prairie Pointe, Hillsboro.

A reception for the inductees and their guests will begin at 5 p.m., followed by dinner and a silent auction at 6 p.m.

Hudson, a 1981 graduate of Tabor, played basketball at Tabor, lettering all four years. She was a KCAC Honorable Mention selection her freshman year and was on the KCAC All-Conference First Team her sophomore, junior, and senior years. During her senior year, she was named the team’s most valuable player, was named to the NAIA District 10 Team, and was honored by Tabor as Female Athlete of the Year.

Herrmann, a 1995 graduate of Tabor, lettered all four years while playing basketball for the Bluejays. His freshman year, he was named KCAC Freshman Player of the Year. Herrmann was named to the KCAC All-Conference First Team his sophomore, junior, and senior years. He was an NAIA All-American Honorable Mention selection his junior year and was recognized by Tabor as the Male Athlete of the Year. He is the all-time leading scorer and rebounder for Tabor men’s basketball, with 1,581 career points and 789 career rebounds.

The Tabor College 1996-97 men’s basketball team, coached by Don Zimmerman, was the KCAC Champions (13-3) and won the KCAC Conference Tournament. The team advanced to the final four of the NAIA National Basketball Tournament the only time in school history and finished the season with a 24-9 overall record.

Members of the team include David Ediger, Rick Cox, Jason Gillette, Talby Justus, Bryce Wichert, Chuck Kern, Jeremy Glanzer, Brent Garrison, Darrin Schmidt, Bruce Jost, David Pyle, Matt Benke, Hiram Finney, Matt Scott, Travis Jost, Randy Wertenberger, Greg Heinrichs, and coach Zimmerman.

For ticket information, call Kathy Epp at (620)947-3121, ext. 1630.

Last modified May 13, 2010