• Last modified 3713 days ago (May 21, 2009)


Tabor honors students at convocation

On the eve of Tabor College’s 99th commencement, the campus community gathered for the Honors & Awards Convocation, to recognize, applaud, and award scholarships to the best and brightest students of the 2008-09 academic year.

The ceremony, held May 13 at the Chapel Auditorium, also saw the college honor Dr. Holly Swartzendruber, Associate Professor of Vocal Music, with the Clarence R. Hiebert Excellence in Teaching Award, honoring the faculty member who best exemplifies the qualities of excellent teaching at Tabor College.

The annual Honors & Awards Convocation serves as a reminder to faculty, staff, and administration officials such as Provost Dr. Lawrence Ressler, that the ongoing work of fulfilling Tabor’s mission — “Preparing people for a life of learning, work and service for Christ and his kingdom” is a highly rewarding endeavor.

“Honors convocation is a great reminder of the quality of education that is going on at Tabor,” Ressler said. “The quiet excellence that takes place in the classroom sometimes gets overshadowed by the public attention given to music, drama, and athletics, which are certainly worth celebrating.

“The number of students who are excelling academically at Tabor is impressive,” Ressler added. “This can only happen when you have a great faculty to provide students with the inspiration and opportunity to learn. It takes a community to learn and I am proud of both the community that exists as well as the learning that is taking place.”

The Honors & Awards Convocation took on added symbolism and significance this year, as the college winds down its 100th anniversary. The eventful centennial year concludes with commencement exercises at 10 a.m. Saturday, in the campus gymnasium.

Local students honored at the 2009 Honors & Awards Convocation include:

Who’s Who in American Colleges & Universities

Richard Johnson and Victor Rogers, both of Hillsboro.

NAIA All-America Scholar-Athletes Spring (2008 Sports)

Johnson, Caleb Schroeder, and Thomas VanWart, all of Hillsboro.

Fall (2008-2009)

Richard Johnson, Kyle Kroeker, and Carrie Schroeder, all of Hillsboro.

Dean’s Scholars

Troy Frick and Nancy Rogers, both of Hillsboro.

Education, Social Science, and Applied Arts

Cheri Mount of Hillsboro, Mario Nava of Peabody, and Tyler Weinbrenner of Hillsboro.

Robert Watson Memorial Scholarship

Richard Johnson of Hillsboro.

Jane Addams Award of Excellence

Shayley Garcia of Hillsboro.


Aaron Phillips, Emily Railsback, and Thomas VanWart, all of Hillsboro.

Herman and Louise Friesen Music Scholarship

Darren Enns of Hillsboro.

Natural and Mathematical Sciences

Jonathan Denning of Hillsboro.

Outstanding Freshman Chemistry Student

Benjamin Heyen of Hillsboro.

Last modified May 21, 2009