• Last modified 2024 days ago (Feb. 6, 2014)


VFW contest winners announced

Marion VFW Post 6958 and its Ladies Auxiliary will present awards to the winners of the Patriots’ Pen and Voice of Democracy scholarship essay and speech contests at 3 p.m. Feb. 16 at the post home, 420 W. Santa Fe St., Marion.

The Patriots’ Pen essay was divided into two divisions, sponsored by the post and auxiliary. Devin Hamm won first in the post’s division, followed by Payton Harms and Caleb Hett. Larry Zieammermann placed first in the auxiliary’s division, followed by Antone Vinduska and Madison Coleman. Zieammermann also placed third at the district level.

Adam Kjellin and Bailey Robson were first-place winners in the Voice of Democracy speech contest. Second place went to Sydnee Baldwin and McKenzee Remmers. Third place went to Elizabeth Meyer and Courtney Williams.

The post and auxiliary invite the winners, their friends and families, judges, and all others who helped with the contests to a reception at 3 p.m. Feb. 16.

Jim Christensen and Marvin and Maggie Meisinger judged the Voice of Democracy entries. The staff of the Marion County Record judged the Patriots’ Pen entries.

Last modified Feb. 6, 2014