• Last modified 2995 days ago (April 6, 2011)


Voters say 'yes' to jail sales tax

Staff writer

More than 60 percent of Marion County voters who went to the polls Tuesday voted in favor of a 0.5 percent sales tax to pay for a new jail.

Early results from Marion, Florence, and Lincolnville polling sites showed the “yes” votes ahead by a 4-1 margin, 904-226. The results from the rest of the county were roughly even, and the final tally was 1,644-940 in favor of the proposal.

“That’s a big step for Marion County,” County Commissioner Randy Dallke said when he saw the result. “I believe the commission now has been set forth with a duty.”

Dallke said it will be the commission’s responsibility to ensure the price tag for a facility is at or below the $3.5 million proposal.

The current jail has served the county since 1933. Dallke said he hopes 14 to 16 months from now, the county will have another facility that will last 80 years to meet the county’s needs.

“It’s a county win,” Sheriff Rob Craft said. “I think the county will be much better off.”

He said he will work with the commission and architect to minimize the need for changes during construction, which can rapidly increase costs.

All results are unofficial until Marion County Commission canvasses the results Friday.

Other races

Trayce E. Warner defeated Holly Pereillo, 37-29, in the race to represent Ward 2 on Florence City Council.

The leading vote-getters for three positions on Goessel City Council were Rollin Schmidt, 82; Dallas Boese, 72; and James W. Wiens, 55. Other candidates were Robert A. McCourry, 44; Joel Ratzlaff, 20; Jerry Stika, 19; and Anton Epp, 16.

Hillsboro Mayor Delores Dalke won in a landslide against challenger Teresa Marie Wright, 535-37.

In Lost Springs, Tish Keesling won the mayoral election, 18-1, against Joyce Buckland-Rohloff.

Incumbents retained their seats in contested city elections in Peabody. Mayor Larry K. Larsen defeated challenger Frank William Doerrler, 162-36. Incumbent council members David Scott, 117; Stephen Rose, 99; and Pamela Lamborn, 97; were ahead of challengers James C. Philpott, 90; Roxanne Dallke, 77; and Lewis R. Litton, 43.

Ramona had nine candidates for five city council positions. The leading vote-getters were Alan J. Svoboda, 33; Arthur Stroda, 32; Jayme Linn Brunner, 27; Byron Noeth, 27; and Nathan A. Bailey, 26. They were followed by Jeanette (Jeannie) Goza, 25; Kathy A. Matkins, 20; James Thompson, 20; and Roy Marvin Rains, 13.

In Centre USD 397, Amber Peterson narrowly defeated Jesse E. Brunner in the race for position 1, 25-22.

In a special ballot question, Peabody-Burns USD 398 voters approved changing the way Board of Education seats are apportioned. Rather than having most of the board represent certain areas of the district, each with roughly equal population, all board positions will be elected at-large. The vote was 183-136 in favor of the change.

Chad Nowak won the race to fill Hillsboro USD 410 Board of Education Position 3, 153-81, over Stephanie Moss.

Last modified April 6, 2011