Adobe House is finalist in state contest

It's no wonder that the Peter Paul Loewen House Museum is among the 24 finalists of the 8 Wonders of Kansas Architecture.

The Kansas Sampler Foundation made the announcement Friday that the Hillsboro museum was a finalist.

Public vote will determine the top eight. People are encouraged to vote online at, call (620) 585-2374 for a ballot, or pick up a ballot at the office of the finalists. Voting began Friday and will end at midnight June 15.

The top eight will be announced June 30.

The 8 Wonders of Kansas series is a project of the Kansas Sampler Foundation, a non-profit based near Inman. The foundation has long used the eight elements of rural culture (architecture, art, commerce, cuisine, customs, geography, history, and people) to help see Kansas attributes.

"It is a great honor to be included in the contest," said Hillsboro museums director Stan Harder. "We would like everyone to vote for us."

Harder said that voters have to vote for a total of eight nominees.

"A vote for the Loewen House is a vote for Hillsboro," Harder said.

Ballots are available at the Museums Visitor Center.

Other finalists are Brown Mansion, Coffeyville; Chapel of the Veterans, Leavenworth; Chase County Courthouse, Cottonwood Falls; Cooper Barn, Colby; Dyche Hall, Lawrence; Fox Theatre, Hutchinson; Franklin County Courthouse, Ottawa; Fromme-Birney Round Barn, Mullinville; Holy Cross Church, Pfeifer; John Mack Bridge, Wichita; Kansas State Capitol, Topeka; Lebold Mansion, Abilene; Mary Queen of Peace Catholic Church, Ulysses; Masonic Center, Salina; Muchnic Home, Atchison; Ness County Bank, Ness City; Osborne County Courthouse, Osborne; Saint Joseph Church, Damar; Samson of the Cimarron, Seward County; Seelye Mansion, Abilene; Topeka High School, Topeka; Wichita Carthalite, Wichita; and Windsor Hotel, Garden City.