Goessel music students excel at state festivals

The Goessel High School music department had another successful year at the Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA) State Music Festivals.

The department, which is well recognized for its musical excellence, received top ratings and comments from festival adjudicators.

The State Large Group Festival was held April 16 on the campus of Bethany College, Lindsborg. The Goessel High School band, mixed chorus, boys' ensemble, and girls' ensemble performed. Each ensemble received a highly superior or I rating from each of the three adjudicators listening to their performances. The overall ratings of the Goessel groups proved to be the top ratings of the day.

The Class 1A State Solo and Small Ensemble Festival was held April 26 at Stucky Middle School, Wichita. To perform at the state solo/ensemble festival, each performer must have received a I rating at one of the regional festivals held across the state two weeks earlier.

Of the 31 events Goessel performed at the regional festival, 24 received the top I rating, qualifying for the state festival. Twenty-three of those musical entries received a total of 18 I ratings, four II ratings, and one III rating. One entry was unable to perform due to illness.

Those receiving I ratings included Michelle Unruh, bass clarinet solo; Kristen Hoffman, French horn solo; Chrystiana Voth, clarinet solo; Hannah Franzen, tenor sax solo; Amy Brubaker, clarinet solo; Kristin Unruh, flute solo; Laura Unruh, clarinet solo; clarinet quartet; saxophone quartet.

Jessica Goertzen, Austin Unruh, Cameron Voth, Ryan Goertzen, Katie Flaming, and Joylin Hall, vocal solos; girls' vocal ensemble; boys' vocal ensemble; Elbiata Singers.

Receiving II ratings were Laura Unruh, Amy Brubaker, and Chrystiana Voth, vocal solos; and Sara Bowman, bass violin solo. Neal Brubaker received a III rating for his vocal solo.

Students are under the direction of Greg Bontrager, vocal director, and Mike Connell, band director. Accompanists are Karen Unruh and Marcia Brubaker.