Students named to honor band

Two Hillsboro High School musicians have been selected to be part of the South Central District Honor Band.

Clay Shewey, fourth chair percussion, and J. Michael Hiebert, sixth chair percussion, auditioned against 24 other students from the south central Kansas area.

Spencer Brown was selected as the first alternate from 18 who auditioned.

"This is the first time students have made the district honor band in about 10 years," said band director Gregg Walker. "This is quite an honor."