Tabor graduates 130 students years ago

Carillon bells resounded for the 98th graduating class of Tabor College Saturday, as 130 students from the Hillsboro and Wichita campuses received diplomas at commencement exercises in the college gymnasium.

Eighty-seven students who attended classes at the Hillsboro campus received bachelor of arts degrees. Nineteen graduates from the School of Adult and Graduate Studies in Wichita received bachelor of science degrees, and 24 AGS students received bachelor of science in nursing degrees.

The commencement address, "A Planned Life — A Prepared Life," was presented by President Emeritus Larry W. Nikkel, who led the college with distinction for nine years prior to his retirement at the end of last year.

Immediately following Nikkel's speech, Tabor Board Chairman Lyndon Vix conferred upon him the title President Emeritus; the first time the title has been bestowed in the 100-year history of the college.

The commencement exercises had begun with an invocation by Adult and Graduate Studies class representative David Roth of Kingman. The capacity crowd was welcomed by President Jules Glanzer, who was presiding over his first official ceremony since his inauguration on May 9.

Glanzer's welcome was followed by the hymn, "He Leadeth Me," accompanied by the Tabor College Symphonic Band, directed by Dr. Richard Cantwell, Professor of Instrumental Music.

In a highlight of the commencement ceremony, Dr. Glanzer presented the Professor Fran Jabara Leadership Award to seniors Jamie Yoder of Kingman and Samuel Flaming, Weatherford, Okla. Each received a cash award and a plaque in honor of leadership skills demonstrated not only during their time as Tabor College students, but for their future leadership potential.

After the awards, David Campbell of Wichita, representing the Hillsboro campus, presented the first of two graduate addresses. His message was followed by the anthem, "Ain't No Grave Can Hold Me Down," sung by the Tabor College Choir, conducted by Dr. Brad Vogel, Professor of Choral Music, and accompanied on piano by Meghann Eblen, junior, Leavenworth.

The second graduation address was presented by Kathleen Huhman of Colwich, representing the School of Adult and Graduate Studies in Wichita.

Liz Finch, Austin, Texas, presented the scripture reading (Proverbs 16:1, 3-4, 9).

The graduates were presented by Dr. Lawrence Ressler, Dean of the Faculty. Dr. Vogel presented yellow honor cords to distinguished graduates, Dr. Glanzer presented diplomas, and gift bibles were presented on behalf of the Alumni Council by Nancy Brucks and Alumni Director Jeremy Jordan.

After the graduates turned the yellow tassels on their mortarboards from right to left, senior class president Shane Miller, Hutchinson, presented the class response.

In conclusion, the assemblage stood as one to sing the Tabor Hymn, "Redeemed of God," which was followed by the benediction by Campus Pastor Kevin Johnson.

Graduates' names, hometowns and majors are as follows:

Bachelor of Arts

Danielle M. Bartel, Hillsboro, Business Administration-Accounting/Finance and Management; Tobias James Berg, Hillsboro, Biblical and Religious Studies; Andrew John Brubacher, Hillsboro, Elementary Education; Steven James Chisholm, Durham, Graphic Design; Kelli Renae Dirks, Hillsboro, Graphic Design; Katie Marie Fast, Hillsboro, Biochemistry; Caleb Michael Good, Peabody, Business Administration-Management and Marketing; Kimberly Lynn Kroupa, Marion, Elementary Education; Caleb Newell Marsh, Hillsboro, Business Administration-Management; Aaron Thomas Miller, Hillsboro, Graphic Design, Biblical and Religious Studies; Julie Nicole Pagenkopf, Lincolnville, Educational Studies: Caleb Grant Schroeder, Hillsboro, Business Administration-Accounting/Finance, Biblical and Religious Studies; Keresa Beth Stepanek, Hillsboro, Psychology, Social Science-Sociology: Philip Scott Unruh, Peabody, Computer Systems Administration; Tyler Ross Weinbrenner, Hillsboro, Health and Physical Education.

Bachelor of Science

Chad Eric Rust, Marion County, Business Administration; Thane Marshall Schwartz, Marion, Christian Ministry.

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Kathryn Beneke-Bloom, Lincolnville. Lisa Joy Slife, Galva.